Welcome to GOV.LK :: Government first image

Sri Lanka


The Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka is a free, independent and sovereign state which is governed by a presidential system introduced under the constitution of 1978. The President is the head of state and the head of government and is elected by the people for a term of six years. The executive power of the state is vested with the President and is assisted by  the Cabinet of Ministers  whom are in charge of different subject matters important to development and the economy of the country.   Legislative power is exercised by the Parliament, which consists of 225 members, is elected by people on a proportional representation basis. The provincial councils which are elected by people are the governing body at provincial level and local authorities are responsible for administrating the urban areas and the “Pradeshiya Sabha” areas. There is well establish judicial system which is independent of the executive and the legislature to solve disputes and make jurisdiction on various legal issues arising day to day life of citizens.